1992 Cricket World Cup: final & match summary


The 1992 Cricket World Cup was the fifth arranging in the list of Cricket World Cups, sorted out by the ICC. It was held in Australia and New Zealand from 22 February to 25 March 1992, and completed with Pakistan beating England by 22 keeps running in the last to turn into the World Cup champions out of the blue.


The organization was changed from past competitions, with a total round-robin supplanting the previous two qualifying gatherings. The underlying draw was discharged with eight contending nations and 28 round-robin matches, in addition to two semi-finals and a last. In late 1991, South Africa were re-admitted to the International Cricket Council following 21 years of rejection because of politically-sanctioned racial segregation, and the attract was corrected to incorporate them, adding another eight matches to the round-robin.


The 1992 Cricket World Cup highlighted the seven Test groups around then.

  • Out of the blue, South Africa contended as the eighth full individual from the ICC, and would play their first Test in 22 years in the West Indies a month after the World Cup. Zimbabwe showed up for the third time, having qualified by winning the 1990 ICC Trophy vanquishing the Netherlands in the last for the second time. Zimbabwe would increase full part status following the competition and play their first Test coordinate later in 1992. Following were the added teams:
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • India
  • England
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe (Associate Member)


The last started with ghostly likenesses to same apparatus prior in the competition when England bowled out Pakistan for an irrelevant 74, as Derek Pringle expelled the two Pakistani openers at 24. Be that as it may, Imran Khan and Javed Miandad settled down to see off the new ball. A pivotal minute happened when Imran Khan was dropped by Graham Gooch at 9 runs. He later proceeded to score a match-winning 72. At the 25 over imprint, Pakistan had just scored 70, yet quickened the score to 139 by the 31st over as Javed Miandad called a sprinter, and he and Imran Khan manufactured an unfaltering organization. Amid his innings, Imran hit a tremendous six off Richard Illingworth that arrived far once more into the individuals area. Imran played a commander’s innings, getting a score of 72 and Miandad 58 to enduring the innings, expectedly pursued by an attack from Inzamam (42) and Wasim Akram (33) empowering Pakistan to give England a battling focus of 250.

Britain’s begin was insecure. Ian Botham was expelled for a duck by Wasim Akram, trailed by Alec Stewart, Hick and Gooch, which left England tumbling at 69/4. A solid partnership of seventy-one runs between Allan Lamb associate degreed Neil Fairbrother caused Imran to provide an early second spell to his essential pacer Wasim Akram within thirty-fifth over. The choice composed the destiny of the match. Two conveyances from the left arm quick bowler rejected Allan Lamb and Chris Lewis. Before long Fairbrother was gotten by Moin Khan off Aaqib Javed to seal England’s last expectation. Imran Khan had the last say, when he had Richard Illingworth gotten by Ramiz Raja off his bowling to complete the last and crown Pakistan World Champions.


Leading Run Scorer

Martin Crowe                    456         New Zealand

Javed Miandad                  437         Pakistan

Peter Kirsten                      410         South Africa

David Boon                         368         Australia

Rameez Raja                      349         Pakistan

Leading Wicket Taker

Wasim Akram                    18           Pakistan

Ian Botham                         16           England

Mushtaq Ahmad              16           Pakistan

Chris Harris                         16           New Zealand

Eddo Brandes                    14           Zimbabwe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here